Schedule

General

The course game-design is given every Wednesday and Friday, starting from week 6 2017. On these days, there are two lectures of 45 minutes, with a break of 15 minutes. On Friday, except for the first Friday, you have two hours of ‘Practicum’ where you work on your practical assignments.

On Wednesday, lectures from 15:15 to 17:00
On Friday, lectures from 13:15 to 15:00
On Friday, practicum from 15:15 to 17:00

Also, refer to the schedule on the UU site.

The schedule below will grow as the course procedes.

Schedule

Jump directly to week: 678910111213, 14, exam, resit
Deadlines are in red

Week 6

Wednesday Februari 8, 2017
Lecture 1: Intro to game-design (field & course) & A history of games

Thursday February 9, 2017
Deadline: Submit your team

Friday Februari 10, 2017
Lecture 2: The game-designers role
Practicum: No practicum today

Week 7

Wednesday February 15, 2017
Lecture 3: Crash Course Unity (Guest lecture)

Friday February 17, 2017
Lecture 4: Design Process – Agile Development

Week 8

Monday, February 20, 2017
Before 23.59: Submit subtask P1.1 (concept)

Wednesday February 22, 2017
Lecture 5: Fundamentals

Thursday February 23, 2017
before 17.00​:  Submit your presentation slides pdf​ by mail.

Friday February 24, 2017
Pitch presentations
IMPORTANT! The pitch presentations are in Cosmos instead of Pangea.
before 19.00
​: Submit subtask P1.3 (feedback) using this form

Week 9

Tuesday February 28, 2017
Before 23:59 – Submit P1.4: evaluation report

Wednesday March 1, 2017
Lecture 6: MDA Framework

Friday March 3, 2017
Lecture 7: Game analysis

Week 10

Sunday March 5, 2017
Before 23:59 – Submit P2.1: Vision Statement & Initial Design (use this template)

Wednesday March 8, 2017
Lecture 8: Challenge

Friday March 10, 2017
Lecture 9: Balance & Level Design

Friday March 10, 2017
Before 17:00 – Show Feasibility & Planning to your TA

Week 11

Wednesday March 15, 2017
Lecture 10: Narrative

Thursday March 16, 2017
Before 23:59 – P3.1 – Analysis of a game. e-mail to game.ontwerp.2017@gmail.com

Friday March 17, 2017
Lecture 11: VR for the masses by Yannis Bolman (CEO Little Chicken Game Company) (guest lecture)

Week 12

Wednesday March 22, 2017
Lecture 12: Game studies:
a media & cultural studies perspective (guest lecture) & Societal Context

Friday March 24, 2017
Lecture 13: Playtesting

Week 13

Wednesday March 29, 2017
Lecture 14: Serious / Applied Games (Design) (guest lecture)

Thursday March 30, 2017
Before 23:59 – Deadline P2.3 (Prototype & Design document(s)) & P2.4 (Playtesting research plan)

Friday March 31, 2017
No lecture. Time to do your Playtesting. TA’s and lecturers are available in their practicum rooms (see here) as usual for help.

Week 14

Wednesday April 5, 2017
Lecture 15: Indie and game dev landscape, Level Design, Summary, Ask questions

Friday April 7, 2017
No lecture. Time work on your analysis. TA’s and lecturers are available in their practicum rooms (see here) as usual for help.

Week 15

Wednesday April 12, 2017
EXAM
13.30-15.30 uur (OLYMPOS-HAL3)
EXAM RESIT
Details to be determined.